.

Cleveland Heights Council to Review Short List of City Manager Candidates

City seeking a candidate to fill spot left vacant by Bob Downey in April

Cleveland Heights City Council was expected to receive a short list of candidates for the City Manager position at Monday's executive session of council.

Community Services Director Susanna Niermann O’Neil has served as interim city manager since Bob Downey's abrupt resignation in April and applied for the permanant position.

Novak Counculting Group was contracted late last year to search for a new city manager and was expected to give council a list of five or so candidates to review and interview.

"What I really want to find in a candidate is someone that understands, that appreciates and can work with our diversity in our city. But I also want someone who has a vision for the future as far as finances, as far as development, as far as youth issues, senior issues. I want the whole package," he said. "And somebody who the staff feels comfortable working for."

As mandated by city charter, Cleveland Heights City Council is in charge of selecting and hiring the City Manager. Kelley said that a decision could be made as early as April.

Garry Kanter February 12, 2013 at 06:57 AM
It'll be Susanna Niermann O’Neil.
Richard Hollis February 12, 2013 at 11:55 AM
It certainly ought to be. What a waste of money, although the charter apparently requires it.
Fran Mentch February 12, 2013 at 01:27 PM
Nikki, Can you please post the names of the candidates on the short list? Thank you.
Nikki Ferrell February 12, 2013 at 03:42 PM
Hi Fran! Council met in executive session last night to discuss the candidates, which they are permitted by law to do. I'll see what I can do, but it might not be possible to obtain the names until the city hires a candidate.
Garry Kanter February 12, 2013 at 05:34 PM
Great question, Fran. Nikki, while you are correct, I believe they previously managed to communicate that Ms. Niermann O'Neil is on the short list. If I am correct, it would seem to be because making that info public is to the mayor and council's benefit. They should act in a consistent manner. And be called out for it when they don't. Which happens a lot.
Garry Kanter February 12, 2013 at 06:02 PM
This is what I saw previously, on the Heights Observer... ----------- Mayor Ed Kelley reported that Novak Consulting Group, the search firm hired by city council to conduct the search for a new city manager, received 68 applications for the position. “Novak has reviewed their credentials and has selected 15 to examine further,” said Kelley. “Susanna [Niermann O’Neill] is one of the 15.” http://www.heightsobserver.org/read/2013/02/08/city-receives-68-applications-for-city-manager-position
Nikki Ferrell February 12, 2013 at 07:54 PM
Hi Garry, I'm not aware of what Kelley said to the Observer - I learned that O'Neill was a candidate from her.
Garry Kanter February 12, 2013 at 08:09 PM
I don't like anything about the way this city operates.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something